Hannah Dodd selected in Australian Womens squad

View original article at https://australia.basketball/blog/2021/01/26/gliders-squad-named-ahead-of-tokyo-paralympics/

Basketball Australia has today announced the 2021 Australian senior women’s Wheelchair Basketball squad.

Those named in the 20-person Gliders squad will be vying for selection in the final team to represent Australia at the 2021 Tokyo Paralympics, set to take place from August 24 – September 5.

It is a new look Gliders squad, with just two previous Paralympians named in Amber Merritt and Sarah Vinci.

Newly appointed Gliders head coach Craig Friday said; “It will be great to get the group together and throw some new challenges at the athletes. I am excited to implement some new strategies and see how quickly we can adjust and adapt.

“The athletes have been very receptive to my leadership and the philosophy we have implemented off the court, now it is time to challenge it on the court.

Australia is one of ten teams who will compete in the women’s wheelchair basketball competition in Tokyo. Split across two groups of five, they will play a round-robin in the preliminary stage to decide the top four placings in each group followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

The Gliders last Paralympics medal was at the 2012 London Games when they claimed silver, having secured bronze at Beijing (2008) and silvers at both the Athens (2004) and Sydney (2000) Games.

The squad will continue their preparation for Tokyo when they assemble for a camp at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra from January 28 – February 4.

The 2021 Gliders Squad (in alphabetical order):

Squad Member NameCurrent Home City/Institute Scholarship
Natalie AlexanderPerth / WAIS
Georgia Bishop-Cash*Brisbane / QAS
Jessica CronjeSydney / NSWIS
Shelley Cronau*Gold Coast & Spain / QAS
Natalie CurtisTownsville / QAS
Hannah DoddSunshine Coast / QAS
Mary FridayPerth / WAIS
Georgia InglisPerth / WAIS
Jacqueline LanePerth / WAIS
Maryanne LatuSydney / NSWIS
Isabel MartinMelbourne / VIS
Bree MellbergMelbourne / VIS
Amber MerrittPerth / WAIS
Georgia Munro-CookSydney / NSWIS
Sonya NewmanDarwin, Northern Territory
Jade O’SullivanPerth / WAIS
Taishar OvensPerth / WAIS
Ella SabljakGold Coast / QAS
Victoria SimpsonParkes, New South Wales / NSWIS
Sarah VinciPerth / WAIS

*Both Shelley Cronau (Vigo, Spain) and Georgia Bishop-Cash (injured) are not able to attend this camp.

Share this post